The Commission is made up of eight members: a superior court judge, a prosecuting attorney, a criminal defense attorney, a sheriff, a victims’ rights advocate, a member of the public and two additional discretionary appointments.


The Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court and the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals appoint the Commissioners to three year terms. See Article 92 of the North Carolina statutes for further information.

Superior Court Judge / Commission Chair

The Honorable Anna Mills Wagoner

Senior Resident Superior Court Judge – Judicial District 19C, Rowan County

Alternate: The Honorable Thomas H. Lock

Senior Resident Superior Court Judge – Judicial District 11B, Johnston County

Prosecuting Attorney

Commissioner: Luther Johnson Britt III

Elected District Attorney, Prosecutorial District 16B, Robeson County

Alternate: Seth Edwards

Elected District Attorney, Prosecutorial District 2, Martin, Washington, Tyrrell, Hyde and Beaufort Counties

Victim Advocate

Aurelia Sands Belle

Executive Director, Durham Crisis Response Center

Alternate: Jennifer Thompson

President of Healing Justice

Criminal Defense Lawyer

Commissioner: Michael A. Grace, Esq.

Grace, Tisdale & Clifton, P.A.

Alternate: David W. Long, Esq.

Poyner Spruill LLP

Public Member

Commissioner: Isaac Heard

Urban Planning and Community Economic Development Consultant and Analyst

Alternate: Camilla Cover

Retired Legislative Liaison for Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP


Commissioner: Kevin Frye

Elected Sheriff – Avery County

Alternate: Hubert Peterkin

Elected Sheriff – Hoke County

Discretionary Member I

Commissioner: John Boswell

Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary – SAS

Alternate: Melissa Essary

Professor and Former Dean – Campbell University School of Law

Discretionary Member II

Commissioner: Nigle B. Barrow, Jr., Esq.

Law Office of Nigle B. Barrow

Alternate: Deborrah L. Newton, Esq.

Newton Law