Alternate: Hubert Peterkin

Hubert A. Peterkin is a lifelong resident of Hoke County. He has been actively involved in the city of Raeford and Hoke County since his teenage years as a servant in his church, volunteer, singer, and law enforcement officer. Sheriff Peterkin has been in Law Enforcement for over 29 years. He served as a law enforcement officer with the Fayetteville Police Department, holding various positions for a total of 16 years. In 1998 He was appointed as the Chief of Deputies for the Hoke County Sheriff’s Office. Hubert was first elected Sheriff of Hoke County in 2002, second term in 2006, third term in 2010, and ran unopposed for his fourth term in 2014. As of July, 2015 he is now serving as the President of all the Sheriffs in North Carolina.

Under Sheriff Peterkin’s leadership, the Hoke County Sheriff’s Office has Build a newly constructed Detention Center (Jail) and a newly renovated Sheriff’s Office. In addition to this many significant changes have been made that led to numerous programs to ensure the safety of Hoke County Citizens and to enhance the performance of the Sheriff’s Office staff. Some of the programs are: Emergency Management Services, Traffic Enforcement Team, Special Operations (Drugs etc.), GREAT, School Resource Officers Program, SERT, Domestic Violence, K-9, Child Support Enforcement, Solid Waste Enforcement, and Gang Task Force, Youth Academy, Summer Youth Camp, and Citizen’s Academy.

Sheriff Peterkin is currently seeking a Doctoral Degree in Organizational Leadership and Management from the University of Phoenix. He has earned a Masters in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix, and A Bachelor of Science Degree in Business and Government from Liberty University. He has received an Advanced Certification from the (N.C. Sheriff’s Criminal Justice Training and Standards) and an Advanced Certification from the (N.C. Criminal Justice Training and Standards). Both certifications are the highest certification in law enforcement. Sheriff Peterkin is a decorated officer and has received the numerous awards. In addition Sheriff received the 8th annual “Enrique S. Camera Law Enforcement Award” on October 21, 2014.